June 17, 2024

Why You Need an Experienced Oakland County DUI Attorney

Being charged with a DUI is no joke. And in Oakland County where law enforcement treats DUIs very seriously, it can be particularly brutal.

As a case in point, in 2011 a judge sentenced NBA player Jalen Rose to 20 days in jail on a first offense.

So if you’ve received a DUI in Oakland County, it’s essential that you find a trustworthy Oakland County DUI attorney to defend you.

Explaining Oakland County Drunk Driving Offenses

In Michigan, you’re considered legally “intoxicated” if you’re under the influence of alcohol, a controlled substance, another intoxicating substance, or some combination of them.

In addition, a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% is also considered legally intoxicated. A BAC of more than 0.17% (a.k.a.“super drunk”) is considered excessively intoxicated and results in additional penalties.

Given all of this, the alphabet soup of DUIs can be confusing. So first, we’ll make sense of a few of the drunk driving offenses you may be charged with in Michigan.

1. Operating While Intoxicated (OWI) 

An OWI is the most common among DUI offenses. Simply put, an OWI arrest is made when your ability to drive is affected by the consumption of alcohol and a minimum BAC of 0.08% is detected.

2. Operating While Visually Intoxicated (OWVI)

Unlike an OWI, an OVWI has no minimum BAC requirement. Because other intoxicants besides alcohol can’t be measured, law enforcement has the right to make an arrest based on behaviors during a field sobriety test.

Failure of these tests can be used as probable cause.

3. Unlawful Bodily Alcohol Content/Level (UBAC/UBAL)

The acronyms UBAC and UBAL are used interchangeably. You can be charged with this offense if you’re driving a motor vehicle with a BAC of over 0.08%, regardless of whether it impacts your ability to drive.

Possible Penalties You May Be Facing

Any Oakland County DUI lawyer can tell you that an OWI or DUI charge puts you in line to face some potentially heavy penalties. And this doesn’t just apply to those with second or third offenses.

For example, a first-time OWI could land you with $100-$500 in fines, six points on your record, and up to 360 hours of community service. But it could also result in your license being suspended for a month, ignition interlock, vehicle immobilization, and even jail for up to 93 days.

In cases where the BAC level is 0.17% or more, the penalties can be more severe. You’re looking at $200-$700 in fines, six points on your record, mandatory vehicle immobilization, up to a year suspension of your driver’s license, license plate confiscation, and even 180 days in jail.

So you need a highly experienced DUI attorney who not only knows the ropes, but is also familiar with the local court system in Oakland County.

Why Local Matters

One of the most important factors to consider when vetting a lawyer for your DUI/OWI offense in Oakland County is whether they’re experienced with the local courts in Oakland County.  It’s imperative that have previously worked DUI/OWI cases with the judges, clerks, and know the processes in the county.

But be wary of DUI attorneys in Oakland County offering their services at discounted prices. While it can be tempting to try to save some money, it’s a mistake to go this route. Bargain attorneys are likely to plea bargain rather than defend you.

Get the Best Oakland County DUI Attorney

If you’ve been accused of a DUI/OWI in Oakland County, you need an aggressive advocate on your side.

And it’s crucial that you begin your defense. Now. So contact us today to set up a free consultation with highly skilled and established Oakland County DUI attorney Jose Fanego who has your best interests at heart. He’s 100% here to fight for you.